Illinois Center for the Book

Letters About Literature Illinois Center for the Book

Letters About Literature is a national reading and writing contest for students sponsored by the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress in cooperation with the Illinois Center for the Book and other participating state centers for the book.

2017 winners with Secretary of State Jesse White
2017 winners Veronica Regelbrugge and Keeley Logsdon with Secretary of State Jesse White. Josie Arnold not pictured.

The program invites 4th–12th grade students to read a book of their choice, reflect on it and write a letter to the author explaining how the book changed their life of view of the world. Students can enter Letters About Literature on their own or through their schools, libraries or youth organizations.

The are three levels of participation:

One Illinois winner is selected for each level and receives a $200 cash award. Teachers of the winning students also receive $100 to purchase materials for their school library. Additionally, the state winners' letters advance to the national competition. National winners for each of the three competition levels receive $1,000, and national honor winners for each level receive $200.

2018 Contest Information and Resources:

Entry forms and guidelines for the 2018 contest will be posted in the late summer 2017. The deadlines will be in December 2017 and January 2018.

2017 Illinois Winners

Past Letters About Literature Winners