FAQs Secretary of State Police
How do I become a Secretary of State Police Investigator or Investigator -Trainee?
You can download the Secretary of State Employment Application for the position title of Investigator or Investigator - Trainee. You may contact the Department of Personnel at 217-782-4783 with questions.
Submit the completed application to the Department of Personnel. Your application will remain on file for a period of one year from the date it is received by the Department of Personnel. If during that time the Department of Police begins the hiring process, you will be notified as to when and where you can take the written exam.
What are the requirements?
The position of Investigator requires knowledge, skill, and mental development equivalent to completion of high school and 60 semester hours of college credit preferably with coursework in law enforcement, criminal justice, law, government or related field AND EITHER (1) the successful completion of the Secretary of State Investigator Trainee program OR (2) the completion of the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board Basic Training Program OR (3) a waiver from the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board for Basic Training. Experience as a professional in municipal, county or state law enforcement may be substituted for the college credit on a year for year basis.
Is college education required?
Yes, 60 semester hours of college credit preferably with coursework in law enforcement, criminal justice, law, government or related field is required. Experience as a professional in municipal, county or state law enforcement may be substituted for the college credit on a year for year basis.
I am already a police officer, Do I need to attend the Basic Training Academy again?
If you are hired as an Investigator, you will not be required to attend the Basic Training Academy again.
How do I apply?
Complete the Secretary of State Employment Application. For questions, you may contact the Secretary of State, Department of Personnel in Springfield.
Secretary of State, Department of Personnel
Michael J. Howlett Bldg.
501 S. 2nd St., Rm 196
Springfield, IL 62756
Secretary of State, Department of Personnel
17 N. State St., Ste. 1300
Chicago, IL 60602
Can Illinois Laws be found on line?
Yes. Illinois laws.
What is the Illinois safety belt law?
With exceptions, each driver and front seat passenger of a motor vehicle operated on a street or highway shall wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt. If the driver is under the age of 18, every passenger under the age of 19 must be properly secured. A child less than 8 years of age shall be protected by the Child Passenger Protection Act. For safety, motorists and passengers should always wear their safety belts.
What is the Child Passenger Protection Act?
Children under the age of 8 years must be secured in an appropriate child restraint system, more commonly called a child safety seat. Child safety seats include infant seats, convertible seats (rear-facing for infants and forward-facing for toddlers) and booster seats that are used with the vehicle lap and shoulder belt system. Children and young people ages 8 years to under 16 years must be secured in a properly adjusted safety belt in any position in the vehicle.
Is the front registration plate required on vehicles registered in Illinois?
Yes, the front registration plate is required on vehicles registered in Illinois. Both registration plates are required to be attached on vehicles registered in Illinois.
Is it legal to use a cellular phone and drive in Illinois?
No. The law prohibits the use of cellular phones while driving a vehicle in Illinois.
What is the law with regards to pass a stopped school bus in Illinois?
The driver of a vehicle shall stop such vehicle before meeting or overtaking, from either direction, any school bus stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging pupils on a highway or upon a private road. Such stop is required before reaching the school bus when the school bus when there is in operation on the school bus visual signals. The driver of the vehicle shall not proceed until the school bus resumes motion or the driver of the vehicle is signaled by the school bus driver to proceed or the visual signals are no longer activated.
Where does a speed limit begin in Illinois?
The speed limit begins at the speed limit sign. Not when you see the sign.
What is a school speed zone in Illinois?
The following is an excerpt from Chapter 625 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes, Act 5, Chapter 11, Section 605. The title of the section is "Special speed limit while passing schools and while traveling through highway construction zones"
(a) On a school day when children are present and so close thereto that a potential hazard exists because of the close proximity of the motorized traffic, no person shall drive a motor vehicle at a speed in excess of 20 miles per hour while passing a school zone or while traveling upon any public thoroughfare where children pass going to and from school.
The following is an Opinion of the Attorney General's Office (Number S-706):
This paragraph limits vehicle speed to 20 miles per hour only during school days while the vehicle is passing a school zone or is traveling on a street on or across which children pass going to or from school, and then only when children are physically present on such street or are outside the school building in a school zone. The 20 mile speed limit is not in effect when the children are inside the school building even though school is in session.
Who has the right-of-way at a four way stop in Illinois?
When 2 vehicles approach or enter an intersection from different roadways at approximately the same time, the driver of the vehicle on the left must yield the right-of way to the vehicle on the right. (625 ILCS 5/11-901)
What are the disclosure laws regarding a "Rebuilt" vehicle in Illinois? Licensed dealers in Illinois must disclose to a purchaser of a vehicle if the vehicle is a "REBUILT" vehicle. A rebuilt vehicle is a vehicle that was involved in a flood or was a salvage vehicle. Dealers do not have to disclose that the vehicle was involved in an accident.
Am I required to have automobile insurance when I drive in Illinois?
Yes. No person shall operate, register or maintain registration of, and no owner shall permit another person to operate, register or maintain registration or, a motor vehicle designed to be used on a public highway unless the motor vehicle is covered by a liability insurance policy. (625 ILCS 5/7-601)
What do I do if I breakdown on the highway?
- Pull well off the roadway
- Activate your emergency flashers
- Raise your hood
- Stay with your vehicle and keep your safety belt on
- Lock your doors